Indonesia set to complete 17 dam projects by year-end

The Indonesian government, through the Ministry of Public Works and Public Housing (Kementerian Pekerjaan Umum dan Perumahan Rakyat, or PUPR in short), has been actively building dams all over the country to support the nation’s food and water sustainability programme.

“This year, the construction of 17 dams will have been completed by December,” said Indonesian President Joko Widodo during his visit to inaugurate the Paselloreng Dam and Gilireng Weir in the South Sulawesi province last month. “We hope through these dams, we can strengthen and improve our food security.”

In its statement, the Indonesian cabinet secretariat shared that the construction of Paselloreng Dam started in 2015, and the project is now ready for operation. This is the eight dam that has been completed this year.

The Paselloreng Dam has a capacity of 138 mil cu m. Coupled with the Gilireng Weir for irrigation system, the dam is expected to increase the production of crops in the South Sulawesi province, which is considered a “national food estate area,” according to the cabinet secretariat.

In addition, the dam will be used to “preserve water security and reduce flood from the Gilireng River.” It is able to discharge up to 489 cu m of water per second, and provide raw water to six sub-districts in Wajo regency with a capacity of 145 l per second.

“The dam also provides conservation purposes, supports tourism areas, and generates additional income for the people,” added President Widodo.

Reiterating the importance of water supply and irrigation systems to support the national food security effort, President Widodo affirmed that the government will continue to build dams in many regions throughout the country.

Local contractor PT Wijaya Karya (Persero) Tbk (Wika), in a separate press release, also highlighted its involvement in several dam projects across Indonesia, including the newly opened Paselloreng Dam.

The other seven dams that have been inaugurated by President Widodo this year, with capacities ranging from 8.68 to 68 mil cu m, include: the Tukul Dam, East Java; Tapin Dam, South Kalimantan; Napun Gete Dam, East Nusa Tenggara; Sindangheula Dam, Banten; Kuningan Dam, West Java; Way Sekampung Dam, Lampung; and Bendo Dam, East Java.

Citing the information from the PUPR, the cabinet secretariat revealed three more dams to be opened this month, namely the Karalloe Dam, South Sulawesi; Bintang Bano Dam, West Nusa Tenggara; and Ladongi Dam, Southeast Sulawesi.

The Ciawi Dam and Sukamahi Dam in West Java, as well as the Tugu Dam in East Java, are planned to be inaugurated in November 2021. The remaining three dams should be ready by the end of the year, including the Gongseng Dam, East Java; Pidekso Dam, Central Java; and Margatiga Dam, Lampung.